Yobo, Odemwingie in Nigeria squad

(AFP) – Nigeria has brought back Joseph Yobo and Peter Odemwingie into his initial 30-man squad for the FIFA World Cup™. Yobo last featured in team which won the CAF Africa Cup of Nations in South Africa last year. Odemwingie had a public falling-out with Keshi after he was left out of the Nations Cup squad.

Stoke City striker Odemwingie has scored seven goals in 29 English Premier League matches and he has since apologised to Keshi for his Twitter posts. Several players from the Nations Cup-winning squad have been left out, including Ukraine-based Brown Ideye and Fegor Ogude.

Nigeria squad
Goalkeepers: Vincent Enyeama (Lille/FRA), Austin Ejide (Hapoel Be’er Sheva/ISR), Chigozie Agbim (Gombe United), Daniel Akpeyi (Warri Wolves)

Defenders: Elderson Echiejile (Monaco/FRA), Efe Ambrose (Celtic FC/SCO), Godfrey Oboabona (Rizespor/TUR), Azubuike Egwuekwe (Warri Wolves), Kenneth Omeruo (Middlesbrough/ENG), Juwon Oshaniwa (Ashdod FC/ISR), Joseph Yobo (Norwich City/ENG), Kunle Odunlami (Sunshine Stars)

Midfielders: Mikel Obi (Chelsea/ENG), Ogenyi Onazi (SS Lazio/ITA), Ramon Azeez (Almeria/SPA), Ejike Uzoenyi (Enugu Rangers), Gabriel Reuben (Beveren/BEL), Nosa Igiebor (Real Betis/SPA), Joel Obi (Parma/ITA), Michael Uchebo (Cercle Brugge/BEL), Sunday Mba (CA Bastia/FRA)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow/RUS), Shola Ameobi (Newcastle United/ENG), Victor Moses (Liverpool/ENG), Emmanuel Emenike (Fenerbahce/TUR), Obinna Nsofor (Chievo Verona/ITA), Peter Osaze Odemwingie (Stoke City/ENG), Babatunde Michael (Volyn/UKR), Nnamdi Oduamadi (Varese/ITA), Uche Nwofor (Heerenveen/NED)

*Squad lists are only official once they have been confirmed and published by FIFA on 16 May at 12:00 CET.